top of page

Bittersweet

I have an immense amount of respect for the work New Light is dedicated to and more than anything, I’m grateful I made time in my life to volunteer with them this summer.

The children in the Red Light District are growing up in an environment where they see men treating women with complete disregard for their wellbeing and where women in the sex industry are viewed as property. The children are growing up in this incredibly harsh environment, which is why New Light is so vital. They’ve established trust with the surrounding community and are able to provide the mothers in the sex industry a place where their children will be safe and cared for, where they will receive an education and where they will be instilled with the belief that they are valued and can pursue whatever dreams they may have.

These children are incredibly resilient, utterly unique and so full of life. To be able to contribute to this nurturing environment-generating self-esteem and empowerment discussions, fostering children’s confidence and self-respect and teaching trauma informed yoga has been an honor.

To simply be able to spend time with these children and young adults, see the same faces day to day, get to know their names, their stories and simply hug them has been a complete joy.

Having to say good-bye though, is so incredibly bittersweet. I know the volunteers that are still here genuinely care about the children and have a great deal of respect for New Light. And the staff of New Light are dedicated to the children's success and invested in their well being. They have consistency with the staff which I'm very grateful for.

But when kids are holding onto your legs, won’t let go and are saying please don’t go-it's hard to see the sweet. I ended up leaving much later tonight from New Light. I just couldn't tear myself away from the children.

I'm trying to focus on the time I was able to spend with them and the memories I was able to make today. Choosing to remember them dancing, laughing and sleeping in the afternoon-arms and legs tangled, cuddled up right next to each other. Trying to... A part of me just keeps wishing I didn't have to say good bye.

I will never forget them, each and every one of these children.


bottom of page